It's just Me...

The Fault In Our Stars

The-Fault-in-Our-StarsOkay.. It’s a movie; rather a good book that was turned into a movie. Some of you may have seen it already.

It came out last year and to be honest, it didn’t even put blip on my radar. Drama isn’t my thing. I do watch them from time to time, but my movie watching interests are pretty childish at best. If it has got a Marvel or DC comic character in it, I’m watching it. If its animated, I’m watching it.

So what made me sit through this..? The story itself.

The title seems to point to the astrological, hinting that there are those for whom the stars that are so well aligned that life seems to come so easy to them. However, watching it you get the sense that it is about two people finding each other and making the best of their limited time together.

I will not put any spoilers in this article for those who did not see the film. Shailene Woodley gives a heartfelt and believable performance to the role of a teenager; whose life has been tragically shortened.

But the thing that caught my attention was a conversation in between her character and Ansel’s. It was about being remembered. It’s a probable fact that when people know the end is nigh, they contemplate their mortality. Words like ‘Legacy’ are thrown around all over the place. Ansel’s character wanted to be remembered for something. His worst fear is that he will be forgotten.

Then comes probably the best couple of lines in any movie… “I’m mad because I think you’re special. And isn’t that enough? You think that the only way to lead a meaningful life, is for everyone to remember you. For everyone to love you! Guess what, Gus – this is your life! This is all you get! You get me, and you get your family and you get this world, and that’s it! And if that’s not enough for you, then I’m sorry, but its not nothing. Because I love you. And I’m going to remember you.”

16480877750_37d269ec5f_zWhenever someone is nearing the end of his/her life, it is a common fact that thoughts of mortality and legacies are an all consuming factor. Bucket lists and achievements, etc… become the daily norm.

We all like to think that we have marked our place in life and we will be remembered by the world. Truth be told, most of us live like ghosts and whispers. The world would not know our existence; nor could care less about our absence. The best we can hope for is to remembered by those closest to us.

This seems like an annual event… Every year around this time, I contemplate my mortality and what I have to show for it. Pretty much every year, the answer is more or less the same – Nothing.
Sometime ago, I posted a picture on Instagram which simply asked the question:
“If I died Tomorrow… What is the one thing that you would always remember about me?”
Needless to say, I didn’t get a single comment or reply.

Leave a Reply

