Computers & Tech

Coding…

Everyone-should-know-how-to-program-a-computer-steve-jobs-840x560

Ever since I was a kid, watching sci-fi and movies like TRON and Absent Minded Professor, etc.., I’ve always had a longing to learn computer programming.

Now many years later, my fascination hasn’t died and I still do wonder if I could take up the challenge of learning to code.

My first coding experience was actually in school itself. The school rarely gave us access to the computer lab. Our computer science classes in school were more academic rather than practical. I can honestly say that those of us who went through those classes didn’t take away much from it. That being said, I’m sure that there are many people who have similar experiences. I learned everything that I know about computers outside of school and if you think about it, most of the movers and shakers in the industry today are drop-outs.

So what is about coding that fascinates me. I can’t say that for sure. Maybe I’m one of the weirdos who likes seeing numbers and letters on the screen and likes the idea of a “terminal” or “command prompt”.  Or maybe it is remembering tv shows the 80s where if you were on a computer, you were typing series of commands on a screen – nostalgia I suppose.

Look at the picture above and the video, Steve has a point. If you think about it, the smartest people on a computer are not the ones who can assemble a pc. The smartest ones are the people who know the core of the system – its core and how it thinks. Learning to code will teach you how to come up with inventive way to accomplish something.

For the moment, I got myself a book on Programming in Objective-C and I learning step by step. Some might ask me why Objective-C. Well, firstly it is objective oriented programming and it is C.. which is one of the best languages around. You might ask why not learn Swift. Thinking about that too. For now I am making head way with Obj-C and I’m going to stick to it.

 

Leave a Reply

