Life in Dubai

A Toast to 2015…

While many blogs I’m following have posted articles of New Year’s Resolutions, etc; I indeed had a million thoughts in my head about the year passed and the year ahead. I guess the pressure is on the start the new year with an amazing post.

To the loyal followers of my blog and my mind’s misadventures, I have to say that I’m not a brilliant writer and I cannot say that fiction my foretee.

At the turn of the New Year, surrounded by family and friends, there was no shortage of well wishes and pleasant thoughts. At the stroke of midnight, my family gathered around, held hands and prayed a short prayer to God; giving thanks for all that has passed and all the good things to come.

The New Year’s Eve celebrations in Dubai was slightly dampened because one of the major hotels , participating in the fireworks display, caught on fire just before the fireworks display was going to start. This being Dubai, the land where everything is bigger and brighter, the eyes of the world was on us. So you can imagine how fast news of the fire spread all over the world.

The son of the ruler dressed himself as one of the firefighters and got involved in the actual firefighting. Whether it was a PR stunt or something he felt he should do, I have no idea. I will not say anything negative about it; after all, he placed himself in harm’s way.

To my loyal followers, 2016 is going to be an amazing day for you. Be prepared for all your dreams to come true. If you believe it, you will have it.

As I woke up this morning, I was meditating on 2015 and where what my ambitions are for 2016. As I did that, I was reminded by two old posts – Another Day in Paradise & Look To This Day.

Inspired by reading through them again, I will say this…

If you were to look back on your life, it is a series of events; some major, others minor. Which is which depends on you. What does 2015 mean to you? If 2015 wasn’t all that great for you, in the immortal words from Rafiki from ‘Lion King’:

e15eaea7fac78cc3407f22acee272513

So before we completely say ‘Good Bye 2015’ altogether, let’s raise our glasses and make a toast to the year that has passed.

“To 2015,
You made us laugh, you made us cry. Sometimes we jumped for joy; others, we asked ‘why?’…
Yet through it all we say with a smile; Glad to have known you, for this little while.
Though never to meet again, once we part, but we’ll remember your moments in our heart.
Good Bye 2015.”

And to those reading this:

20160103212142

1 reply »

  1. Here is to 2016 being an amazing year! Reflecting back on 2015 I realised that it was pretty damn good, and that even though I had been focusing on some of the not so nice stuff that happened – there was many a good things that happened too!!

Leave a Reply

