Uncategorized

A Year Without Robin Williams

I found this article by a good friend, Alicia Blanco, quite inspiring. Originally posted on her blog, The WAVE, I felt it needed to be shared. Hope you enjoy it.

What is shameful is that Tabloids often brought to attention the childish antics of the Kardashians, Bieber, Miley Cyrus & the like; yet we hardly heard about the stars that truly touched us. We did not know Robin Williams struggled with depression until it was too late. Sure, everyone is entitled to their privacy and perhaps wanted to keep it out of the papers, but photographers and journalists go out of their way to capture the lives of idiots & forget life’s memorable heroes.
As for my feelings on Robin Williams, the man, the legend; I will forever remember his voice & characters bringing laughter to us all. His characters touched our hearts and minds. In a way he achieve a sort of immortality; for the simple reason that we will never forget. And his work will entertain generations for years to come.

An Inner Beauty Blog

robin2

On August 11th, 2014 I was flying home from a weekend in Arizona. When I landed and connected back to social media, the first thing I saw was “RIP Robin Williams”.. “actor commits suicide” all over my Facebook and Instagram feed. My body went numb. I was in total shock and disbelief.

Like many of you, I felt like I lost a close friend. I grew up watching and loving him and all the beloved characters he brought to life. It was devastating news to come home to, to say the least. Equally devastating is how mental health and suicide is treated and talked about in society. It isn’t until a celebrity commits suicide that society gives this topic any real attention. This needs to change.

It was on that day last year as I was driving home from the airport that I knew I wanted (and needed)…

View original post 755 more words

Categories: Uncategorized

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

