Computers & Tech

Hackintosh Update 2

Posted a while ago on my 1st ever Hackintosh.
https://julxrp.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/my-1st-hackintosh/ and a follow up article;
https://julxrp.wordpress.com/2014/02/01/hackintosh-update/

Recently Jonathan had brought in 2 boards. One an Asus and the other an MSI. I spent two days trying to switch to one of the two from my Gigabyte board because my current board only supports ram to only 1600Mhz, while the ram is 1866Mhz Ram.
The current Gigabyte H77-DS3H does not support to clocking the ram to its full potential and I thought I could get that little bit of extra speed by changing.

The MSI board (P67A-G43) was awesome. The installation went like a dream and I didn’t even have to put in that PCIRootUID trick. The only problem with it is that as Mac OS X puts the computer to sleep after 15 mins of no usage, waking it up, was a mission. The computer would just freeze and then restart.

The Asus Z68 V-Pro Gen3 had some pretty awesome features. But it was nightmare. You boot into the USB, and use the PCIRootUID it would come to installation window, but only a blank dark grey screen with a beach ball going on and on. I waited for quite a while; 45 mins to be exact.
In the end my bro suggested trying to install by booting into the USB using the SafeMode.
It worked, but after that, when you try to boot into the HDD for the 1st time, it would stall and restart for no reason.

I did some research on both the boards and guys here have had considerable success. But all their advice was just not working for me. I don’t know why. Sometimes you can have the same exact specs as someone else and still have two complete different experiences in the installation. In addition to that, all the post that I have read, seem to pointing to something that in the boards that were not working. Essentially meaning that you needed there were somethings that you need to live with.

In the end I decided to go back to the good old Gigabyte H77-DS3H. And my computer is now running fine with everything working so well. OK.. my Ram is working at only 1600Mhz, but it works well.
Never had a crash, freeze or anything.

My System Specs at the moment:
Core i5 3330
Gigabyte H77-DS3H motherboard
Zotac GT610 Graphics
16 GB 1866Mhz RipJaws Ram
500GB HDD
Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9.3

One thing that I can advise about my current configuration. If you are using my board, you need to use the MultiBeast Mavericks 6.1.0. The latest MultiBeast 6.3.0 does not work that well when it comes to Audio Drivers and network drivers especially since I’m not using Chimera or not installing. I’m using Chameleon that comes with MyHack. I know it is popular to see the TonyMac logo or the Chameleon logo while booting up, but it my installation does not have that. By omitting it, it kind of looks like a normal Mac Booting (sort of).. 😛
If you plan on installing Chimera, then 6.3.0 should work fine. I’ve posted my MultiBeast selection below.

Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 9.02.57 AM

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo

Categories: Computers & Tech

Leave a Reply

