Uncategorized

Its all in your head…

Fears-are-storiesHypsiphobia, Altophobia, Acrophobia – All mean Fear of heights. Didn’t know that there were that many.

By the above sentence, you can probably guess the topic of this article. Everyone is afraid of something; myself included. Some fears, like the fear of heights, are considered rational while others, irrational.
A fear is a fear, rational or irrational. And I have mine.

I am afraid of heights. Well, that is not quite accurate. I think I fear the fall more than the prospect of being high up. I’m able to stand on the terrace of high skyscraper and stuff, but not stand on the railing. 😛
I guess you can call that rational. No one likes to fall to their doom. Ever since I was a kid, I would have some kind of a dream where I fall after hanging on the something and I’d always wake up just as my body (in the dream) hit the bottom. I’m probably not the only one.
Facing your fears head on is something that I plan to do. I don’t plan on letting my fears take hold of me.

Recently, a very good and beautiful friend put me on to a place called Adventure HQ, here in Dubai. She spoke about an obstacle course that was designed to test your bravery. She also spoke about how scared she was.
I thought of this as something perfect to put my fear of falling and heights to the test and beat it. Having been through the course twice, I can still say that I’m not quite there yet.
Seems kind of ridiculous that a simple obstacle course designed for kids and teenagers, can have such a dramatic effect on people who have fear of heights. It doesn’t look like much when you’re on the ground; but up there, you’ll see it in a whole new light.

I was feeling pretty proud of myself having conquered the course and my fears for that moment. Well that was until I saw a 13 year old just breeze through the obstacles like they were nothing for her. She did the course in what seemed like Guinness World Record time to me and my friend with me at the time.
I have a brother who is a bit of a rebel and a daredevil and so for him, such stunts like Sky-diving and is nothing. He practically fears nothing. I sort of wish that I was like him in a way. The one thing that I needed to remind myself that I need not fear falling because of the harness on me and that what I was fearing was really all in my head. That’s basically it. All our fears are in our heads. Sometimes the danger is not as real as what our minds would have us believe.

Anyways, I made up my mind that I’m gonna keep on doing the course until I find myself doing it with the same ease as walking down the street in broad daylight. I hope to be brave enough to jump off a plane one day.

Once I’m done with that, I’ll be pumped up enough to tackle my other two fears. Snakes and Sharks. 😛

Leave a Reply

