It's just Me...

I’m no Welch…

“Just say a simple, ‘Yes, I will,’ or ‘No, I won’t.'” – Matthew 5:37

In a recent post, I spoke on not being fake and keeping promises. I recently had the opportunity to talk to myself about this..
Some of you are going to look at me like I’m some sort of nut. Well, I am… (in a way).

I had made a bet with someone and lost. Now the nature of the bet is not important, but the fact that I made the bet and lost is. During the period of time, it completely escaped my mind. In fact the other party too had forgotten about it and never claimed it.

My mind did not apparently. Last night I was reminded and we talked about it.
” You made a bet…
Did I?… With whom?…
With ***….
Really?…
Yes.. And you lost… Now you need give a dinner treat.
I see… Did I promise that?…
Yes YOU DID, you SHMUCK…
But it was months ago.. *** probably doesn’t remember it…
*** doesn’t, but  I do… You SAID it, you have to do it. Its a matter of honor…
Alright… I’ll do it… ”

I’ve decided to be true to what I said earlier… I’m no welch and I stand by the rule, never make a promise you don’t intend to keep. I wouldn’t want anyone to do the same for me either.
The other party insisted that I need not pay the bet as it was a simple thing and none of us really did pay attention to it, but  I insisted that it should.
Its a matter of honor, not about the bet itself. The bet may have been meaningless, but my words are not. I said the words, and my words will not be in vain.

Categories: It's just Me...

Leave a Reply

