Life in Dubai

Traffic & Ramadan

I don’t know what it is about the “Holy” month of Ramadan that brings out the worst in people on the roads. Especially in the afternoon before ‘Iftar’, the time they break the fast. Is everyone so anxious to get home to eat that they forget everything including their brains. The number of road accidents increase, road rage and tempers flare so easily.

Having lived here practically all my life, you’d think that I would be used to it, but this baffles me every time. I remember when I was learning to drive. For personal reasons that I won’t get into right now, I used to fast every Wednesday. It so happened that every Wednesday, when I used to make a mistake, the instructor used to ask me if I was fasting and if I said, ‘Yes’, he would let me off easily. What about the other days that I made the same mistake. Since when did driving become so hard that you can’t do it on an empty stomach? Ridiculous.

I told my instructor to not go easy on me just because I was fasting. And to make sure, I said a lie every now and then.
Not eating is no excuse to leave your brains behind. Not to be a downer on muslims, but during this month, they seem so eager to show the entire world that they are doing a huge sacrifice by not eating. In fact recent statistics state that Muslims actually gain weight during the month of Ramadan than loose it. They look so depressed and sad. And that makes me very, very sad indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

